What If

image

Who knows what today will bring,
My painful, mourning, anthem sings.
Is there truth that lies beyond,
In the saddness of this song?
So far so good some say is fine,
Though I dream of another kind.
A day that does not find me weary,
The spoken word I hear so clearly,
So tired of this fate befallen,
Waiting for my doom so called in.
To reach out and grasp the rope,
That lifts me higher towards such hope.
But to reach is hard, and my burden heavy,
What if my hands were to fail me?
“What If” reads the stone ‘ore my grave,
That lies open. Will I be saved?
Not for as long as I here lay,
With open arms simply waiting to be saved.

One response to “What If

Leave a Reply

