Afraid to Say

image

These hands that hold my mouth closed, force my words
Back into a void cave, wishing release.
My silence grows, like so many caged birds,
In this well of censors I can’t appease.
Truly, I’m not powerless to resist,
Yet fear, my nemesis, paralyzer.
Fearing not change, but the resulting list
Of failure, by she, the analyzer.
I must stand and resist her, fear of change.
The fear of what I am meaning to say.
I will succeed though the fear still remains.
Therein it will drive my courage today.
I look back on the battle for my soul,
I, with clear eyes see, the hands were my own.

One response to “Afraid to Say

Leave a Reply

