Guilt Faltered

image

How my guilty conscience must be swayed,
If by decline and moral decay,
One were to hold me back and say:
“Give in, there’s no other way.”
Hoping my weakness to then fail.
Hoping my strength to rise up and prevail,
I sit by silently and wail.
Hope without action becomes stale.
By the time that’s tried and true,
It will be too late for you,
To bring, pull, or drag me through.
So many lies, what is true?
Oh, there you are! My guiding light!
Will you stay with me tonight?
My safety stolen, giving fright.
We’ll hide until we can take flight.
Until that light I need no longer.
Its absence will make me stronger.
I’ll not hide in darkness bothered,
By infection of guilt faltered.

Leave a Reply

