Falling Water

image

Alas, I am not one so fortunate as to spend my day in rain.
Luxury it would be there to discover any gain.
Oh, but I am one who’s deprived of such many, rainy things,
And must wait for what beyond the dark and cold clouds then bring.
Daily closer to my goal: one to love and one to hold,
I shan’t shiver in the cold, ‘cross this wide, expansive shoal.
The hour then arrives and the water from sky to cease.
From behind the rain: sunlight; your face quickens my heart to beat.
No longer longing for the rain, for the dark, and for the grey,
But to hear the words “I love you” from you to me, every day.
My wish is then granted, every bright or cloudy day,
A home with you I’ve found for my heart and soul to stay.
Falling water running freely from the shoal and to the sea.
The rain kept my hidden desires, my heart open for you to see.
While I miss my dances there, in long, cold, summer rains,
My dance with you is so much more, and here it shall forever remain.

One response to “Falling Water

Leave a Reply

