Loveless

image

I have seen the light your eyes have shown me,
Now dim,  your eyes having long since turned grey.
I was there but you did not try to see.
I should have known. Many questions that they,
Posed. The way you looked at me and you said:
“Do this for me.  Tomorrow I’ll for you.”
Your promises were empty words and dead.
Strange,  the lack of sorrow,  no tears came through.
Leaving.  I wanted to. But you were first.
Odd feeling, false sense of security.
For a moment I thought my heart would burst,
But that was expected, not within me.
Nothing remains of the farce that was home.
Each being left, just a bit less than whole.

2 responses to “Loveless

Leave a Reply

