The Empty Bottle

Untitled

There! That swinging door,
Closing loudly like never before.
Note no wind disturbs this house,
Note none live here, not one mouse.
Even now my old mind deceives.
Attempting to prevent my hearts’ belief:
That I am not within these walls alone.
That in these cold rooms a soul
Drifts in and out of time, my eyes see,
Things where they shouldn’t be.
But I am alone this is my soul,
It’s where it rests inside this hole,
In the dark I am he that soul finds.
But am I alone if to me that soul is tied?
I am alone! I closed that door!
I am the not wind disturbing this floor!
I say this before, I know,
I will unwillingly let go
Of all these memories and forget,
Just how many times I’ve let
My own mind to thinking
I’ve not been alone in this sinking.
Daylight fades and I try,
To find the answer as to why.
And wish that I’d once been coddled,
As soon as I see the empty bottle.

Leave a Reply

