My First Defense

xxdownload34

All these words cause my cold blood to quicken,
Strangely though for who bought them? I’m the one.
Now all around me my shell it thickens,
And I am wishing for the daylight sun.
I am stirred here in my first reaction,
And find comfort in my first defense.
With the glowing wonder of a black sun,
I find my first, the wrong side of a fence.
For how are we to know the beautiful,
If there is nothing lesser by its side?
How can we know joy beyond the painful,
Without accepting them to coincide?
The next time a question finds me, retreat,
Will not be my first defense in conceit.

Leave a Reply

