In The Wake Of A Flame

SplitShire_IMG_4670-800x500
When there is naught left in this world but hate,
And nothing is left but eternal dark,
When Light and righteousness are now sedate,
Deny me my lease and let me depart.
I’d rather leave than remain among fools
Who believe darkness is too much to fight.
Apart from these ones I can see the tools,
And perhaps with those I can make a light.
Though my flame be small and burn up quickly,
I’ll light it, with faith it is sufficient.
May I leave this world a bit less sickly,
With love and beauty I leave behind it.
The beauty of this flame I leave in wake,
Will be enough I hope to more lights make.

Leave a Reply

