Suddenly Gone

4658_89635525826_4342934_n
These tears I shed for you were my,
Only way of saying goodbye.
Another chance I wish I’d had
To see you smiling, but I can’t.
I’ll remember the time that we,
Were friends. and life,
As it used to be.
Heaven’s now a brighter place
And this world a little darker.
You will be missed in that death you don’t belong.
You will be missed in how you were
Suddenly gone.

-Dedicated to Rachel M.

I used to work with Rachel, she was a good friend to me and a good friend to a lot of people. Where we worked, most everyone looked out for each other and helped out when needed, people there were giving and caring. Even customers would comment on how the employees had a family attitude. So in 2011 on the day she died, everyone felt it. Even customers. Everyone who came into the store knew something was wrong.One of my friends had called me up 2-3am that morning and told me that she died in a car wreck, that she just got hit by a drunk driver and died instantly.
And just like that, she was gone. No goodbyes, nothing. Just gone. I had just worked with her two days before not knowing that it would be the last time I would see her. I went to her funeral and tried to say goodbye there but I couldn’t do it. It wasn’t until her mother put up a cross where the accident was that I could really say goodbye. It took me a long time to say it, but I finally did. It still hurts and I still miss her like crazy, and I always will, but now it hurts a little less since I was finally able to let go. Here’s to hoping I’ll see you again someday. Rachel, rest in peace my friend.

Leave a Reply

