Of Sleep, Of Life, Of Love

IMG_1729-1300x866

Awoken at the break of dawn I have,
Or all this time have I just been awake?
The sunlight, now a necessary salve
For my tired mind left in the moons wake.
I’ve been here so long in this waking world,
Must sleep. But still there’s so much left to do.
I listen to the cat ’round my feet curled,
She purrs. I relax, closing eyelids too.
I forget my tasks, tomorrow take them,
And as I rise the purring fluff-ball stirs,
Tries to sway me to stay with eyes like gems.
I leave, now that night into day has blurred.
Dreaming beside my wife, in grateful rest,
I think of how, with her, I am so blessed.

Leave a Reply

