Smile

I forced a smile
In hope for a smile in return
But alas,
The smile I did see,
Was not for me.

I wrote this poem in October 2008 when I was going through a bout of depression. I had left my apartment to simply wander, I used to love taking walks just to think, not to really go anywhere, and I looked up to see someone walking towards me. It appeared that she was looking at me but really she was looking at someone behind me, so I forced a smile at her hoping I would see her smile at me. She did smile and wave, though not at me, and I will always remember the disappointment I felt right at that moment.

Leave a Reply

