Trying To Use The Elevator That Doesn’t Work; Not Willing To Use The Staircase To Get To The Second Floor

A bent life
A bent soul
A broken knife,
Lying in a hole.
I’ve fallen in,
I shout for help.
Despair won’t dim,
Hope I’ve not felt.
Now at the bottom,
I’m tossed a shovel.
The knife is welcome
And pain is doubled.
The secrets I’ve kept
Have brought me here.
At the chance I would’ve leapt,
To get out there.
I dig myself deeper,
Into this pit of despair.
Of my past I’m a keeper,
I’ve hidden a gun under the stairs.
With my shovel of self-pity,
I travel further away from escape.
My fate should be fitting,
I don’t deserve to leave this place.
My time is up.
It is sounded by a gong.
I don’t want to look up
To the ladder I’ve known of all along.

2 responses to “Trying To Use The Elevator That Doesn’t Work; Not Willing To Use The Staircase To Get To The Second Floor

  1. Dude, I gotta admit, I have no idea how this poem correlates to the title.

    Like

  2. it doesn’t correlate to it as much as just adds to the meaning. or rather is a summary of the meaning

    Like

Leave a Reply

