Alone

photo_6412_20080627

As I said to a dying star,
“From you, heaven is not too far”
To me she then replied,
“It is for grief that I have died,
What I wish for more than air,
Is for someone to take me there,
In heaven I do not wish to be,
But in love to love him,
And he to love me.”

One of my personal favorites, this one is about a rich old lady who, even after acquiring so much wealth and property, still has one regret before she dies: that she never found true love. In this context, think of heaven as earthly fame and fortune, what many people these days consider to be “heaven on earth”.

1 Corinthians 13:2 NASB
2 If I… know all mysteries and all knowledge; and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing.

Leave a Reply

